+Katharine to ++Peter

May 3, 2007 at 10:21 pm Leave a comment

+ Katharine Jefferts Schori

The Most Rev. Peter J. Akinola
Primate of All Nigeria & Bishop of Abuja
Archbishop’s Palace
PO Box 212 ADCP
Abuja
NIGERIA

My dear Archbishop Akinola:

I am writing this letter with my prayers for you and for the entire worldwide Anglican Communion from a fellow child of Christ.

I understand from press reports you are planning to come to the United States to install Martyn Minns as a bishop in the Convocation of Anglicans in North America. I strongly urge you not to do so.

First, such action would violate the ancient customs of the church which limits the episcopal activity of a bishop to only the jurisdiction to which the bishop has been entrusted, unless canonical permission has been given. Second, such action would not help the efforts of reconciliation that are taking place in the Episcopal Church and in the Anglican Communion as a whole. Third, such action would display to the world division and disunity that are not part of the mind of Christ, which we must strive to display to all.

I would carefully ask that you reconsider your plans to come to this country for this purpose. This request stems from the hope and vision of reconciliation which was the mind of the primates as we met in Tanzania.

Your servant in Christ,

Katharine Jefferts Schori

Entry filed under: Anglican, ECUSA, Episcopalian, Gay, Global Village, Homosexuality, Human Rights, Moffie, Peace and Justice, Ubuntu.

Cockie Lobin: Ena zwili ena fili ++Peter to +Katharine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Haai!

  • 235,582

Dorpsbewoners

Argiewe

Onlangse Lesers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

Kalendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

del.icio.us


