Simba Makoni talks with Redi Direko

February 28, 2008 at 1:32 am 4 comments

Last Monday Simba Makoni, Zimbabwean presidential candidate, interviewed with Redi Direko on South Africa’s talk radio 702 via telephone. The tension-filled interview gets off to a rough start which, unfortunately, sets the tone for the remainder of the program. It’s a pity that Ms. Direko adopts and maintains a confrontational interview style, and a greater pity that Dr. Makoni appears reactionary throughout. Personality dynamics aside, it’s worth listening to, though, as Dr. Makoni explains why he is not “standing against Mugabe, but standing for the people of Zimbabwe.” Listen to the entire broadcast here to form your own opinons about Dr. Makoni’s ideas on, among other things, national healing and reconciliation.

Entry filed under: Africa, Global Village, Race and Culture, Restorative Justice, Ubuntu, Zimbabwe.

Simba Makoni’s Election Manifesto South Africa’s Proposed Pledge of Allegiance

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bertus!  |  February 28, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I listened to that interview and I must confess that halfway through, I actually caught myself thinking I might have voted for Robert Mugabe if Simba Chips was the only alternative. He came across as a complete twat.

    One of the mistakes we often make in analysing African politics is to assume that the opponent of a dictator is a worthy candidate merely because he opposes the current dictator. That need not be the case. Simba, for instance, does not seem to have any inclination to change Mugabe’s politics, he merely wants to continue the Zim thugocracy, but to replace the main thug with himself. As yet he has given the world no reason to believe that he would be any better than Bob.

    (I might be biased though because I worship Redi. I did not find her confrontational at all – she did a sterling job staying calm under constant attack from a very hostile interviewee.)

    Reply
  • 2. HeatherGandanzara  |  March 11, 2008 at 6:43 am

    I listened to this interview and while I agree that Dr. Makoni could have done a better job of answering questions ( as opposed to evading them), I cannot get past how unprofessional the interviewer was. I had never listened to her before and I will not be listening to her again. She needs to go back to wherever it is she got her training and do it over again. She was unprofessional, even hostile, and asked a lot of leading and loaded questions. While interviewing involves probing, she went way beyond this. Her arrogance, hostility and lack of professionalism took a lot away from what could have been an insightful interview. Shame on you talk Radio 702!

    Reply
  • 3. Innocent  |  March 14, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    After Listening to the interview, I will not vote for this idiot. He is so arrogant and rude. Mugabe really knows how to train, look how Makoni has turned out after years of beeing baked in the Mugabe oven.

    What a shame!!

    One more vote for Morgan Tsvangirai

    Reply
  • 4. desert Lizard  |  July 4, 2009 at 3:41 am

    Prepare the way Dr Makoni , hail Zapu ye all Zims who are thirsty for Freedom. Zapu is the only inclusive Party since time began for Black Consciousness in Africa. The Settlers have tried to divide us, but it wont work .United under ZAPU we Shall Triumph. Zapu is the next Govt no matter who the Leader is, not necessarily the Black Russian, he is not power hungry, but a new breed of Chibwechitedzas are being groomed. ZAPU Zhiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Haai!

  • 243,583

Dorpsbewoners

Argiewe

Onlangse Lesers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

Kalendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

del.icio.us


